Qualifying for Services and Other Helpful Information

Home | Get Started | Qualifying for Services

Early Intervention Program

To learn more about the eligibility requirements and the referral process, please visit Early Intervention Colorado and download A Family Overview: Colorado's Early Intervention Colorado Program at a Glance.

Medicaid Waivers and Family Support Program

Eligibility Definitions

In order to access Developmental Pathways programs, an individual must first be determined to have a developmental delay or developmental disability. This determination is made by Developmental Pathways during the intake and eligibility process.

Before the age of five, an individual can have a determination of Developmental Delay meaning that a child meets one or more of the following:


A child who is less than five years of age at risk of having a disability because of the presence of one or more of the following:

  1. Chromosomal conditions with delays in development
  2. Syndromes that begin at birth associated with delays in development
  3. Sensory impairments associated with delays in development
  4. Metabolic disorders associated with delays in development
  5. Prenatal infections and significant medical problems associated with delays in development
  6. Low birth weight infants weighing less than 1200 grams, or
  7. Postnatal acquired problems resulting in delays in development


A child less than five years of age who is significantly delayed in development in one or more of the following areas:

  1. Communication
  2. Adaptive behavior (social skills, daily living skills such as bathing, dressing, safety, etc.)
  3. Social-emotional
  4. Motor
  5. Sensory
  6. Cognition


A child less than three years of age who lives with one or both parents who have a developmental disability.

After the age of 5, a person must have a determination of a disability.

An intellectual disability is a disability that starts before the person reaches the age of 22 that affects their ability to complete daily tasks, their decision making and problem solving ability, and stems from a diagnosis or neurological condition. Examples of these conditions are cerebral palsy, epilepsy, autism, or other neurological conditions that result in impairment of intellectual functioning or adaptive behavior.

Disability criteria requires:


An IQ of 70 or below on a formal IQ test that looks at cognitive or intelligence functioning.




A score of 70 or below on a formal adaptive test. The adaptive test looks at the areas of communication, self-care, home living, social skills, community use, self-direction, health and safety, functional academics, leisure, and work.


In order to enroll in one of our Medicaid waiver programs which includes:


The individual seeking services must enroll in and be approved for Medicaid.

Social Security

The individual seeking services must meet the federal Social Security Administration’s definition of an individual with a disability (more information on the SSA’s definition of disability is available here, and they must apply for social security benefits.

Community Outreach Department and General Questions 303-858-2255

Early Intervention Intake Line 303-858-2229

Medicaid Waiver Intake Line 303-858-2260

Or email intake@dpcolo.org